The Newly Renovated Manila Cathedral

The Manila Metropolitan Cathedral-Basilica, informally known as the Manila Cathedral, built in 1571, is one of the oldest churches in the Philippines. It has seen wars, millions of marriages and other sacraments, different regimes, and pontificates. It has also had many renovations.

On April 5, 2014, just in time for the Holy Week, the newly renovated Manila Cathedral was officially opened to the public. And yesterday, I made it my first stop for my Visita Iglesia (a Catholic practice during the holy week where one visits seven churches and does the 14 Stations of the Cross in each of these churches).

A more vibrant look and feel

My sister got married at the Manila Cathedral and I felt that it was more gloomy than sacred. I also wasn’t a fan of the altar which is a far cry from the splendor that is San Agustin’s altar.

From the flooring to the newly painted walls and ceiling, to the much better designed altar, here are photos that I took myself of the renovated historical church:

Facade

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Interior

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Your $0.02 are welcome! :)

