Tori’s Sorta Fairytale

I may not know many a Tori Amos song but I’ve long appreciated the spirit and heart she puts in her compositions. It was enough for me to immediately accept an invitation to attend a Tori Amos Night regularly held here in the Philippines. Renowned local artists like Bayang Barrios and Cynthia Alexander perform their own Tori Amos song renditions complete with poetry reading and art exhibits.

This song has been my favorite of hers. And I especially love this performance, how she kept looking at the camera as if looking through her audience.

“…like a good book
I can’t put this day back
a sorta fairytale with you…”

Though she said it was Scarlett (which she said could be her alter ego or bitter half) telling this story, it was almost automatic that I felt the sadness in these lines and in the haunting melody.

People say Tori either likes messing with her listeners’ minds. I say she’s a true spirited artist. And this song, as I felt and understood, tells of a person holding on to something bittersweet. It was almost a fairytale because it felt so surreal yet it did happen, long enough to make it feel real; and short enough to suddenly wake you up.

“…and I rode along side
till you lost me there
in the open road
and I rode along side
till the honey spread
itself so thin
for me to break your bread
for me to take your word
I had to steal it”

I dread the day the honey’s spread thinly. Just like everyone else, I dream of a ‘sorta fairytale’. But, unlike some, the “sorta” gives me a sense of realism in idealism, constantly getting a reality check while dreaming.  Because, these two, after all, are not irreconcilable. Or so I firmly believe.

Your $0.02 are welcome! :)

