Response to Should Writers Blog?

My answer? Writers ultimately will have restrictions. A blog doesn’t. I don’t think it would confuse you if you pick a topic as a blogger that you don’t talk about as a writer. If anything, it gives you more perspective, more views to ponder on, and reach out to a more diverse audience.

KeithParker.net

The Christmas holidays gave me some time to reflect on writing and the flu, which are an oddly similar afflictions.  One of thing that I kept circling back to was this question: Do we writers need to have blogs?

Nessie

I started this blog back in 2011 to give out free writing advice, for what it’s worth.  I then rebooted it last year to focus on writing science fiction or — as I call it at cocktail parties — sex scenes.

But seriously, even under the huge umbrella of science fiction, fantasy and horror, I don’t really have a focus.  Just think about all the things I’m interested in:

  • Science fiction
  • College football
  • Fantasy
  • Television
  • Home improvement projects (I even do windows)
  • Time travel
  • The Civil War
  • Creative writing
  • Computer modeling
  • Graphics
  • JFK
  • Encyclopedias
  • Maps
  • Atlases
  • Classic rock
  • Cuba
  • Gnosticism
  • Humor
  • Horror
  • World War II
  • Beer
  • Collecting books
  • The Cold War
  • Old school D&D

View original post 152 more words

2 thoughts on “Response to Should Writers Blog?

  1. Thank you for re-blogging me … I think you’re the first! I really appreciate that. I decided to keep the blog going but to take pressure off myself to write something dazzling every time … I want my blog to be fun!

    • And that is precisely what blogging is about. You and I both need to learn that. It’s like writing in your diary/journal vs. writing for publication (although this gets published online, but you get my drift). Enjoy the freedom! 🙂

Your $0.02 are welcome! :)

