Laing

I’m not a fan of laing, a vegetable dish (taro leaves, shrimp paste, jalapeno pepper) in coconut cream and milk from Bicol, Philippines. Though my mom loves it, she probably figured I (along with my other siblings) didn’t like it because it has too much..well, leaves. Now, I shouldn’t be blaming my mom for my lack of appreciation for laing but on those few occasions I did partake of this dish, it tasted too bitter.

Till I met this laing

Oh, yes, I ate the whole plate and ordered another. 🙂

Now come to think of it, maybe I was just grossed out by the lemon grass used to tie it in banana leaves and this version simply just didn’t have it. Mind you, though, dishes from Bicol can be extremely spicy — laing not excluded. Or maybe adding the cabbage and dried fish made it taste better. Or maybe, they created a better concoction of coconut and milk.

Well, whatever the case, I am now in search of a restaurant that could top this version. Damn, just looking at the photos makes me want to go back! I better bring my best friend so we can order those heavenly scallops, too… 🙂

Your $0.02 are welcome! :)

